Burnt Tomato, Goat Cheese, and Anchovy Bruschetta

*

Elevensies brought to you today by Francis Mallmann’s Seven Fires, Grilling The Argentine Way. I got some serious cooking going on for dinner, so I wanted to fuel myself and my beloved with a simple, but satisfying little meal. This really fit the bill.

 

Mallman burns his halved cherry tomatoes on a chapa or a cast iron griddle until they are blackened on one side. Instead of this, which I’m certain is wonderful, I’m using the oven dried tomatoes from Ottolenghi. This way I could make more than I needed and keep the leftovers for something good later. Like any simple recipe, this one depends on good ingredients to stand pretty much on their own, so use good, fresh stuff.

 

For the sauce, chop a handful of parsley pretty fine and place in a small bowl. Add a clove or two of minced garlic and up to half a cup of olive oil and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste. This will keep for a week in your fridge if you have any leftover. Which we did not.

 

 

For the tomatoes, cut three medium tomatoes into quarters, toss with olive oil, thyme, salt, and pepper. Lay them out on a baking sheet and bake at 275 for an hour. When they’re done, take them out and let them cool on the baking sheet.

 

 

*

 

Cut a baguette into rounds, or slice in half lengthwise and then into quarters. Brush with olive oil and broil until golden.

Spread each baguette with goat cheese. Top with the tomatoes, a generous spoonful of the Parsley, Olive Oil, and Garlic sauce, and top with two or three anchovy fillets.

 

Serve immediately, to wild raves and applause.

 

 

*

 

Namaste.

 

 

***

5 thoughts on “Burnt Tomato, Goat Cheese, and Anchovy Bruschetta

  1. I just made an easy version of the same thing because you inspired me and I’m not even hungry!!! I rubbed my toast with garlic then brie then tomatoes then parm then doused it with olive oil the parsley from my kitchen windowsill. Thank you for your brilliant inspiration here and everywhere else that’s what.
    love,
    Rebecca

  2. ps. NO ANCHOVIES. hahahahaha.

  3. liviaslove says:

    OMFG, I am jumping for joy because I finally figured out how to comment here again…I was locked out for sooooo long. I kept reading but couldn’t comment, phew! Back to normal.

    This was great. Love anchovies and I would eat garden gloves if they had goat cheese on them, but this was a sublime combination. And I so know what you mean about the tomatoes!

  4. […] latest from The Tearful Dishwasher, over at Plate and Fork:  Burnt Tomato, Goat Cheese and Anchovy […]

  5. Elizabeth says:

    You love Jack Gilbert and anchovies — your wife is such a lucky woman!

Leave a comment